RockWare Support Forum
Leandro G. K.

Solid intersection volume

Hello,

I'm new to Rockworks (and I'm also not a fluent in English speaker, so please excuse me in case I do not express myself correctly).

I would like to know if its possible to use Rockworks to calculate the volume of an intersection of a solid model (such as a tunnel), and each lithologic/stratigraphic unit individually.

In case I do have a tunnel model in .dxf format, is there a way I can use it directly?

Thanks,

Leandro G. Kuhlmann

Hi Leandro,

Your English is excellent! I just hope I understand your question.

I think the answer is "yes". This assumes the following:

1. You have lithology data entered into the Borehole Manager, and you have used Lithology | Model to create a block model (also called "solid model" in RockWorks) to represent these materials across the project area. This type of model is a 3D array of regularly-spaced nodes which have been interpolated to represent the lithology material types, based on known data from scattered boreholes. Block models are stored in .MOD files.

And/or, if you have stratigraphic data entered into the Borehole Manager, then you have used the Stratigraphy | Model menu option to create a stratigraphy model AND you have requested the Save Model option to save a block-model (.MOD) version of the stratigraphic layers.

2. You have a listing of X1Y1Z1, X2Y2Z2, and radius data entered into the Utilities datasheet, defining the location and radius of the tunnel segments. This is the required format of "tubes" in RockWorks. Getting this format from your DXF file will depend on how it is structured.